China to Refine Visa-Free Transit Policy and Digitize Entry Procedures (2026) — What Foreign Travelers Should Know
China announced plans on July 24, 2026 to refine its visa-free transit and entry programs while digitizing more border and immigration services — here's what the changes mean for travelers from 50 visa-free countries and 55 transit-eligible nations.

Key takeaway
China's National Immigration Administration (NIA) announced on July 24, 2026 that it plans to refine visa-free transit and entry programs while digitizing more border and immigration services. No immediate rule changes apply — the 50-country unilateral visa-free list and 55-country 240-hour transit policy remain unchanged for now. Travelers should monitor official NIA channels for implementation announcements.
How the rules work
What Changed
According to the State Council of China, a senior police officer from the National Immigration Administration (NIA) stated on July 24, 2026 that China will adjust visa and residence-permit policies further, upgrade digital entry services, and refine existing visa-free transit programs to provide "more convenience for foreign visitors."
The announcement, reported by Xinhua News Agency, signals the government's continued push to make inbound travel easier as foreign arrivals surge. In the first half of 2026, China recorded 22.91 million entries by foreign nationals — a 20.4% increase year-on-year — with 17.8 million visa-free entries accounting for 77.7% of all foreign arrivals, according to the NIA's July 2026 briefing.
The planned refinements focus on two areas: (1) adjusting visa and residence-permit rules — though specific changes have not yet been detailed — and (2) upgrading the digital infrastructure at borders, which could mean faster e-gates, app-based declarations, or expanded passport-reader compatibility at immigration checkpoints.
This is the latest in a series of policy relaxations: in February 2026, the United Kingdom and Canada were added to the 30-day unilateral visa-free list, bringing the total to 50 countries.
Who this is for
Foreign travelers from 50 visa-free countries (UK, Australia, EU, Japan, South Korea, etc.) and 55 transit-eligible countries (including US, Canada) planning trips to China in late 2026 or 2027. Also relevant for residence permit holders anticipating policy adjustments.
What to do next
- Verify your nationality's eligibility using ChinaPie's visa-free checker. 2. Monitor en.nia.gov.cn and ChinaPie Travel Updates for official implementation announcements. 3. Prepare both digital and paper backup documents for your next trip.
Watch for
❌ Assuming the policy changed immediately on July 24 → ✅ Continue following current entry rules until official implementation dates are published.
❌ Mixing up 30-day visa-free entry (50 countries) with 240-hour transit (55 countries) → ✅ Check which program your nationality qualifies for before booking flights.
❌ Booking non-refundable travel assuming digital upgrades are live everywhere → ✅ Carry printed copies of hotel bookings and onward tickets as backup.
What may vary
Implementation timelines may differ by port — Beijing, Shanghai, and Guangzhou likely receive digital upgrades first. Specific policy adjustments to visa and residence permits have not been detailed; scope could range from minor tweaks to expanded eligibility.
Backup plan
If digital entry upgrades are unavailable at your port, standard manual immigration processing remains in place. Carry a printed hotel confirmation, return/onward flight ticket, and completed Arrival Card.
FAQ
Do the July 24 2026 announced changes mean I can enter China without a visa right now?
No — only nationalities already on the 50-country visa-free list or 55-country transit list can enter without a visa. No new countries were added on July 24, 2026.
Will the 240-hour transit policy be extended beyond 10 days?
The NIA has not specified what refinements mean. Current 10-day limit through 65 ports across 24 provinces remains in effect.
When will digital entry upgrades be available at Chinese airports?
No timeline published. Major hubs like Beijing Capital (PEK), Shanghai Pudong (PVG), and Guangzhou Baiyun (CAN) typically receive upgrades first.
Do the July 24, 2026 announced changes mean I can enter China without a visa right now?
No. The announcement is a policy direction — only nationalities already on the 50-country unilateral visa-free list or the 55-country transit list can enter without a visa under current rules. No new countries were added on July 24.
Will the 240-hour transit policy be extended to more than 10 days?
The NIA has not specified what "refinements" to the transit policy will entail. The current 10-day (240-hour) limit through 65 ports across 24 provinces remains in effect. Any extension would require a separate official notice.
When will the digital entry upgrades be available at Chinese airports?
No timeline has been published. Based on previous NIA digitization rollouts, major airports like Beijing Capital (PEK), Shanghai Pudong (PVG), and Guangzhou Baiyun (CAN) typically receive upgrades first. Monitor [en.nia.gov.cn](https://en.nia.gov.cn/) for announcements.
